Home > Personal > Holy Wars… The Punishment Due

Holy Wars… The Punishment Due

Yes, I know it’s a Megadeth song title, but I couldn’t think of a better way to put it! And, if you have read the band’s blog, you’ll notice that blog entries are often named with song titles. Perhaps an alternative could be:

Politics and Religion – Never to be discussed in polite company.

The observant among you will have noticed at lease two uses of the word crusade so far in this ‘blog. The first in the previous post. And the second? (Take a peek at the URL in your browser!)

Why? The answer to that lies in a question I posed to myself in 2007, and have continued to do so since. (In all honesty I can’t remember if I heard the question somewhere else first, but for the purposes of this entry it is irrelevant.)

How will history see the recent conflicts in the Middle East?

Will they look back in years to come and see them as portrayed by the invaders? A coalition of benevolent, rich, capitalist states supporting a nation weakened by oppressive evil regimes. Or will they see them as a final war between Eastern and Western religious ideologies, Christian against Muslim. A Last Crusade.

Despite having been involved in both areas I fear it shall be the latter by which we are measured. The wars, for that is what they are in all but name, will be remembered as the predominantly Christian capitalists forcing their will on the predominantly Muslim tribes of the Middle East.

And it makes me sad.

I am a religious man. I am not a church goer, yet I can honestly say that I believe in a higher power. Over the years I have had cause to scratch the surface of many of the world’s major religions and their writings. The one thing which has struck me throughout these dabblings is the similarity, at a higher level, of them all and the intertwined mythology which binds many of them in the dim and distant past.  Yet despite these similarities, or perhaps because of them, we seem destined to disagree.

And so, in less than 6 weeks, I shall embark on my own pilgrimage to join what will not be, unfortunately, the Last Crusade.

Categories: Personal Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

